Crafting Cognac: A Spirit with Many Faces

作者: Michael Cervin        来源: 《酒典》www.winemagcn.com|原创作品 谢绝转载

FINE WINE AND LIQUOR MAGAZINE

Cognac is still something of a mystery to most people. Yes it is brandy, distilled wine, and like Port and Champagne it is also a region, specifically in the Western part of France located north of Bordeaux, and a three-hour train ride south from Paris. Brandy is made in many places across the globe, but anything labeled Cognac must be made in Cognac.

History

Wine grapes have long flourished in Cognac and the Dutch came to this region looking for salt and they found wine. Salt was easy to ship back to Holland but wine proved to be problematic; it spoiled on the ship ride back. It was 1542 when it was discovered, either accidentally or on purpose depending on what story you prefer, that if the wine from Cognac was distilled it could survive the voyage back to Holland. Therefore fermented and finished wine was distilled into eau du vie (“water of life”), a clear, somewhat harsh spirit, but when a second distillation occurred followed by aging in oak casks, then the wine-turned-spirit became Cognac, something quite unexpected.

Uniqueness of Cognac

Like any product controlled by a trade board, Cognac is no different and there are quirky rules that Cognac producers must adhere to. For example it is "compulsory" to use copper stills; all distillation must be completed no later than March 31st at midnight, and you cannot irrigate your vines. Additionally the grapes planted to make Cognac are odd grapes rarely used for making traditional wine, including Folle Blanch, Colombard and the most ubiquitous grape, Ugni Blanc. What's intriguing, actually downright mysterious, is how Ugni Blanc becomes something better than itself. When I visited Cognac I was able to taste several Ugni Blanc still wines. The wine is thin, acidic, tart, grapefruity, completely unimpressive, certainly not what you'd expect as the base for world class Cognac. But like the caterpillar morphing into the butterfly Ugni Blanc transforms into something beautiful. Cognac typically consists of four specific tastes: floral, fruit, spice and wood. You'll hear different Cognac houses espouse either fermenting using the lees or strictly not using lees at all; one is not better than the other. Since aging is crucial most everyone uses both dry and humid cellars, which means that various barrels, being affected by both hot and cold temperatures, will age differently, adding subtle complexity. In Napa winemakers worry about earthquakes - for Cognac it is fire. Throughout Cognac’s history fire has decimated thousands of casks therefore most everyone has multiple cellars in multiple places, keeping their proverbial eggs in many baskets.

cognac maison dudognon

There are about 260 Cognac houses - some very small like the mother and son team of Maison Dudognon and newcomers like Cognac Lecat, to medium sized houses like Frapin and Camus, to the larger and well-known brands like Hennessey, Martell and Remy Martin. But Cognac still struggles to create an expanding presence in China and in 2016/2017, direct shipments to China equaled 22.6 million bottles worth 430 million Euros or 3,341,799,981 RMB. But to truly understand Cognac, you need to visit.

Martel

RemyMartin

My time in the city took me to many producers, each one with their own story and style of Cognac. Throughout the city there are multiple La Cognathèque’s, Cognac bars which typically offer a wide selection of Cognacs from many producers who have no tasting facilities. Therefore you have the ability to sample a multitude of Cognacs and discover the breadth of what is being produced. In Cognac there are winemakers and grape growers in the thousands; some who merely grow grapes, some who make the wine and sell it, and others who distill their wine and sell the eau du vie to the Cognac houses. It is a vast complex web of relationships in a small market and it involves a tremendous amount of people.

Pairing with Food

When it comes to pairing Cognac with food there are basic guidelines surpassing the idea of Cognac and a cigar and cheese. VS Cognacs for example work well with fish like smoked herring, lobster, scallops, wok-fried ham, marinated duck tongues and barbecued suckling pig, and, certain cheese like Edam, Roquefort and creamed cheese’s. With a more mature VSOP oysters and Peking duck, foie gras and smaller game birds work well as well as cheeses like creamy Brie, hearty American Cheddar. There are other adventurous pairing such as braised spareribs with preserved plums in black vinegar. For XO pairings caviar, lobster, various nuts and fruits like carrot, apple and raspberry and small game birds highlight Cognac’s complexity.

Cognacandlobster

Cognacandlocallamb

The Houses

Chateau Lecat is new to be game having released their very first Cognac in 2014. Lecat farms 20 hectares 95% of which is to produce eau du vie. They distill on the lees for a “more refined” approach says director Yann Hamonou. They utilize five to 10-year-old barrels, which do not release abundant tannins but do give off vanilla and pear notes and a roundness on the palate. I ask why they launched into a crowded field when you consider that Hennessy alone controls 45% of the market? “Diversity creates curiosity,” Hamonou tells me. “If you focus on quality, it’s not impossible, after all quality customers will follow.”

Frapin'sMasterBlender

Quality is certainly the hallmark at Frapin whose family has been in the region since the late 1200s. Currently they control 240 hectares of vines planted in “crumbly chalk.” They only produce half a million bottles of Cognac, which might sound like a lot but they are dwarfed by their competition. Frapin is old-school; they will routinely pull out vines around 40 years old and let fields go fallow for seven years before replanting; and their stills are not computerized, as most Cognac distillation is high tech. “Each decision is made by the nose,” says Frapin’s master distiller Patrice Piveteau, not by a computer. “I don't like Cognac or wine with just one element, like wood,” he says. “For me Cognac is a story.” They produce a wide variety of Cognacs from 12-18 year aged to special blends with small amounts of Cognac as far back as 1872. I tasted with Patrice through an assortment of iterations: the 1991 “cigar blend” with subtle notes of tangerine and vanilla; and the 4,000 Euro “1888” with beautiful notes of caramel, vanilla, peach, tangerine and apple. Frapin is also the official Cognac of the King of Romania. They are not open to the public but do offer private tastings.

Camus

At Camus, a family-run fifth generation house, quality is the key for an upscale global market. They are well known in China due to owner Cyril Camus living in Beijing part time along with his Chinese wife. “For the overall Cognac market now, China represents about 35% of the volumes sold every year. For Camus it is anywhere from a quarter to a third of our total production,” Cyril Camus says. At this Chateau you can blend your own Cognac to take home with you, as I did - for 80 Euro, and they are open to the public May through September for tastings. Their property, located near the heart of the town of Cognac itself, dates from the 1830s and was built as an original Cognac house with high walls to hide the stocks of salt and wine from their neighbors. They farm 180 hectors of vines and the family decides the flavor profiles. “The validation of Cognac is always with the nose. We listen to the Cognac,” says master blender Frederic Dezauzier. They use both the Trancas and Limousine wood, utilizing both fine and large grain woods, something that is uncommon for Cognac.

Blending at Camus

Hennessy is the largest Cognac producer in the world and they store an astounding 350,000 barrels that are actively aging. They operate 40 stills, use 465 general distillers, have 19 exclusive distillers who only work with them, and contract with1,500 grape growers and wine makers. Olivier Paultes is the director of distillation for Hennessy. “I remember, even as a young schoolboy, being fascinated by the aromas of the leather satchel I carried my books in everyday,” he tells me. “I think you need a natural interest in food, aromas and taste to be a master blender. A good nose and palate are very important. For me tasting is concentration,” he says, which is why when I visited with him and blended my own Cognac there is absolutely no noise in the room. “What you look for is perfect harmony, just like in an orchestra, just like when you cook,” he says. “You may have very good oysters here and some very good chocolate there, but you don't put the two together – it's the same with Cognac.”

Every morning at 11 a.m. he and the rest of the tasting committee, taste through 50 to 80 samples for blending. I am given multiple Cognacs from which to craft a blend - a 1983 (smooth, clean and spicy with a moderate fruit component), a 1990 (spicy wood, butterscotch, caramel), and a 1996 (clove, apricot, apple with more upfront oak). I ponder, mull, and assemble my own concoction. Oliver calls my blend the “most round.” Another blend he calls “95% spot on,” and of someone else's blend he says, "No, it's not horrible it's just strange.” Fortunately I am not a master distiller or blender. But what these craftsmen do, and what Cognac offers apart from most any other wine or spirit, is an amazing concept of continuum – a life over time whereby age is the perfect compliment. “What’s exciting for me personally,” says Oliver, “is that we are preparing the Cognac of tomorrow; some of the eau-de-vie I have just distilled now will age to be tasted in 100 years.”

作者简介:迈克尔·卡尔文,葡萄酒酒作家,定居美国加州,为多本葡萄酒杂志撰稿,著有若干葡萄酒专业书籍。

作家其它文章 相关文章

精制干邑白兰地:品质一如,风貌万千

作者: Michael Cervin        来源: 《酒典》www.winemagcn.com|原创作品 谢绝转载

FINE WINE AND LIQUOR MAGAZINE

Crafting Cognac: A Spirit with Many Faces

对于大多数人来说,干邑仍然是一个谜。是的,它是白兰地酒、蒸馏酒,像波特和香槟,它同样也是一个地区,具体来说是在法国西部, 波尔多北部,从巴黎往南三小时的火车车程。白兰地在全球许多地方都有生产,但任何标有干邑标签的酒都必须在干邑生产。正如俗话说,所有的干邑都是白兰地,但不是所有的白兰地都是干邑。

历史

用于酿酒的葡萄长期在干邑地区长得十分茂盛,荷兰人来到这个地区寻找盐,他们也发现了葡萄酒。盐很容易运回荷兰,但运酒就比较麻烦了; 酒在通过水运运回来的路上在船上会变质。在1542年时人们发现,无论是意外还是研究发现(哪一种情况取决于您的喜好),如果将干邑的葡萄酒蒸馏,就可以在航行回到荷兰之后保存下来。因此,发酵和成品酒被蒸馏成eau du vie(“生命之水”),一种清纯,略带粗糙的烈酒,但是当第二次蒸馏并在橡木桶中窖藏之后,就转变成了干邑, 一种意想不到的佳酿。

干邑的独特性

像任何由贸易委员会控制的产品一样,干邑也没有什么不同,干邑生产商必须遵守古怪的规则。例如,使用铜制蒸馏炉是“强制性”的; 所有蒸馏必须在3月31日午夜前完成,且不能灌溉葡萄藤。另外,用于酿造干邑的葡萄是很少用于制作传统葡萄酒的特种葡萄,包括Folle Blanch,Colombard和最普通的葡萄,Ugni Blanc。一个有趣的问题是(实际上特别神秘的是),Ugni Blanc是如何变成比自身更好的东西的。当我去干邑参观时,可以品尝到几种由Ugni Blanc酿造的无汽葡萄酒。葡萄酒是淡淡的,味酸、辛,葡萄味较浓,平淡无奇,肯定不是你所期望的世界级干邑的原酒。但就像毛虫破茧成蝶,Ugni Blanc也实现了美丽的蜕变。干邑通常由四种特定的口味组成:花香、果香、香料和木香。你会听到不同的干邑酿酒公司,要么使用酒糟发酵,要么严格不使用酒糟。 两种方式都不分上下。由于窖藏至关重要,大多数人都使用干燥和潮湿的地窖,这意味着受高温和低温影响的各种酒桶的储藏时间将有不同,增加了微妙的复杂性。在Napa,酿酒师担心的是地震——而在干邑,则是火。在干邑的历史中,烈火已经吞噬了成千上万桶美酒,因此大多数人都在多个地方建有多个酒窖,将他们名声在外的鸡蛋安放在许多个篮子里。

cognac maison dudognon

大约有260家干邑酿酒公司——有些非常小的公司,如:Maison Dudognon的母子团队,有些如Cognac Lecat这样的新公司,有些像Frapin和Camus这样的中等规模的公司,还有些像轩尼诗、马爹利和人头马这样的大型知名品牌。但是,2016/2017年期间干邑仍然努力在中国扩大业务,直接出货到中国的相当于2260万瓶,价值4.3亿欧元,即3,341,799,981 元人民币。但要真正理解,您需要到干邑一探究竟。

Martel

RemyMartin

在这个城市期间,我拜访了许多生产者,每个人都有自己与干邑的故事和他自己酿造的干邑风格。在整个城市,有许多人头马精品区(La Cognathèque)的干邑酒吧,通常提供来自没有品酒设施的许多酿酒商的各种干邑。因此,您可以对多个干邑进行抽样,并搞清楚有多少酒厂正在生产这一品种。在干邑,有数以千计的酿酒师和葡萄种植者; 一些人只种植葡萄,一些人酿酒并出售,另一些人蒸馏他们的葡萄酒并将生命之水卖给干邑酒商。在一个小市场里,它形成了一个庞大而复杂的关系网,有大量的人投身其中。

搭配美食

当将干邑与食物搭配时,除了干邑、雪茄和奶酪的想法外,还有一些基本的指南。例如,VS干邑可以和诸如熏鲱鱼、龙虾、扇贝、炒火腿、卤水鸭舌和烤乳猪以及像Edam、法国羊奶干酪(Roquefort)和奶油奶酪等奶酪完美搭配。与更成熟的VSOP牡蛎和北京烤鸭、鹅肝和小型禽类野味,以及如布里白乳酪、丰盛的美式切达干酪等奶酪搭配良好。还有其他冒险的搭配,如黑醋泡话梅炖排骨。对于XO搭配鱼子酱、龙虾,胡萝卜、苹果和覆盆子等各种坚果和水果,以及小型禽类野味,突显了干邑的复杂性。

Cognacandlobster

Cognacandlocallamb

酒商

Lecat酒庄是干邑的新晋生产商,2014年发布了他们的第一款干邑。Lecat农场占地20公顷,其中95%生产生命之水。厂长Yann Hamonou说,他们用酒泥蒸溜,通过更精纯的方法提炼。他们使用五到十年的桶,不会释放大量的单宁酸,而是发出香草和梨子的味道,口感圆润。我问他们为什么进入这样一个拥挤的领域,特别是在他们知道轩尼诗一家控制了45%的市场份额的时候?“多样性创造好奇心”,Hamonou告诉我。“如果你专注于质量,这并不是不可能的,毕竟客户是跟着质量走的。

Frapin'sMasterBlender

Frapin的标志就是它的高品质。它是自13世纪后期以来该家族长期在该地区的制胜法宝。目前,他们控制了240公顷种植了“易碎的粉笔 ”的葡萄园。他们只生产五十万瓶干邑,这可能听起来很多,但比起他们的竞争对手简直不值一提。Frapin是坚守传统的; 他们会定期拔出四十年左右的葡萄树,让田地休耕七年,然后重新种植; 并且他们的蒸馏炉不是电脑控制的,而大多数干邑的蒸馏都是采用高科技的。Frapin的酿酒大师Patrice Piveteau说,“每个决定都是由鼻子来决定的,不是用电脑。我不喜欢只含有一个元素的干邑或葡萄酒,如木头,”他说。“对我来说,干邑是一个故事。”他们生产的各种干邑有12-18年陈藏的,也有用最早可追溯到1872年的少量干邑特殊混合的产品。我与帕特里斯(Patrice)一起品尝了各种各样的混搭品:1991年的“雪茄混合”,含有橘子和香草的微妙的香气; 和4,000欧元的“1888”,含有美妙的焦糖、香草、桃子、橘子和苹果的香气。Frapin也是罗马尼亚国王的官方干邑。他们不向公众开放,仅供私人品尝。

Camus

在家庭经营的第五代Camus公司,质量是占领全球高档市场的关键。他们在中国比较出名,因为公司拥有者Cyril Camus和他的中国妻子闲时一起住在北京。“现在,对于整个干邑市场来说,中国占每年销售量的约35%。Camus约占我们总产量的四分之一到三分之一。”Cyril Camus说。在这个酒庄,您可以将自己的干邑混合在一起带回家,就像我一样——花80欧元带回家,从五月至九月,他们向公众开放品尝。他们的酒庄位于干邑镇镇中心附近,可追溯到19世纪30年代,最初的干邑公司被建造成了高墙深院,从而向邻居掩盖他们储藏的盐和葡萄酒。他们种植了180公顷的葡萄园,家族决定了酒的风味。“干邑始终通过鼻子来验证。我们倾听干邑。”勾兑大师弗雷德里克·德佐泽尔说。他们使用Trancas和 Limousine两种木材,利用精细纹路和大纹路的木材,这些对干邑来说并不常见。

Blending at Camus

轩尼诗是世界上最大的干邑生产商,他们存储着惊人的35万桶干邑,正在积极陈化。他们运作40个蒸馏炉,使用465台普通蒸馏器,拥有19家只与他们合作的独家蒸馏商,并与1500名葡萄种植者和葡萄酒酿造商签约。Olivier Paultes是轩尼诗的蒸馏总监。“我记得,在我还是一个小学生的儿时,被小皮包的香气迷住了,我每天都用它来装我的书,”他告诉我。“我认为你需要对食物、香气和口味有天然的兴趣才能成为一个勾兑大师。良好的嗅觉和味觉非常重要。对于我来说,品尝必须集中精力。”他说,这就是为什么当我拜访他的时候,在勾兑我自己的干邑时,房间里绝对不允许有噪音。他说:“你所寻找的是完美的和谐,就像在管弦乐队一样,就像在做饭时一样。”“你这里可能有很好的牡蛎,在其它地方还有一些非常好的巧克力,但是你不要把这两个放在一起 ——干邑也是如此。”

每天早上11点,他和品酒委员会的其他人一起品尝50到80个用来勾兑的样品。他们给了我多种干邑,我将从中制作调味酒 ——一种1983年(平滑、干净和辛辣的水果含量适中)、1990年(辣木、奶油糖、焦糖)和1996年(丁香、杏、苹果,和扑鼻的橡木)。我思考,加入糖或香料等,调制自己的混合物。奥利弗把我调出的混合物称为“最圆润的”。另一个调味酒被他称之为“95%完全正确”,对于另一种别人的调味酒他则说,“不,这不是可怕,只是奇怪而已。”幸运的是,我既不是一个酿酒大师,也不是勾兑大师。但是这些工匠们做了什么,以及干邑与其它绝大多数葡萄酒或品质不同的地方,都是一个令人惊叹的传承理念——随着时间的推移,窖龄是最佳的赞美。奥利弗说:“对我个人来说,令人兴奋的是,我们正在准备明天的干邑; 我刚刚提炼的一些生命之水将会在窖藏100年后供人品尝。

作者简介:迈克尔·卡尔文,葡萄酒酒作家,定居美国加州,为多本葡萄酒杂志撰稿,著有若干葡萄酒专业书籍。

作家其它文章 相关文章