互联网和葡萄酒生意:是敌还是友?

作者: Diego Bonnel        来源: 本文为《酒典》原创,欢迎订阅,允许微信直转链接,谢绝网站纸媒转载

Internet and the wine business: friend or foe?

Fine Wine and Liquor magazine

互联网:对于懂得如何正确应用它的葡萄酒厂而言,是一个可以用来管理品牌并且获得潜在回报的强大工具。但是,需要清楚其中的一些风险。

互联网在全球经济中的应用极为广泛,葡萄酒领域也不例外。它被用于建立两个公司之间的链接(B2B),建立公司和消费者之间的链接(B2C),以及提供一系列电子商务机会。在所有这些案例中,互联网都会对品牌塑造过程产生影响,并且最终决定其成败。一个成功的品牌能够带来销售额及利润的增长,坚守牢固的声誉,并且能够吸引到新的消费者。每个渠道——B2B,B2C,电子商务——有风险也有回报,我们将逐个加以分析。

B2B:一个不可被遗忘或被忽略的渠道。

电子市场是将一个商家与另一个商家联系起来的最常见的互联网工具之一。电子市场允许卖方和买方(在很多情况下指进口商和分销商)进行招标。在这个市场,可以获取进口商和分销商信息。通过对分销商的投资组合进行分析,葡萄酒厂可以提前了解其品牌价值和定位跟进口商/分销商的品牌价值和定位是否匹配,这样可以节省时间和金钱。全球葡萄酒与烈酒(Global wines and spirits)和国际酒水网络(International Beverage Network)是电子市场应用到国际市场的两大案例,通过它们,葡萄酒厂可以将自己打入到国际市场。

电子酒吧能够帮助增加销售额和利润。对生产商而言,尤其是那些期望建立自己品牌,找到特定受众的中小型生产商而言,电子市场是一个非常有用的好工具。通过电子市场这种罕见的场所之一,它们可以找到特定空间及特定受众。vins-etonnants.com是一家法国网站,专注于天然葡萄酒,以小生产者为特色。网站上许多葡萄酒都标示有土壤、葡萄栽培及酿酒细节的描述。此外,还会提供配餐建议。有时候,还会找到对酿酒师的采访——以此呈现葡萄酒背后的故事,与葡萄酒建立起很紧密的情感联系。举个例子,在这个网站上,展示着一个小型玛歌酒生产商艾格侯露贝赫酒庄(Chateau Bel Air Marquis d’Aligre),以及庄主的一系列视频,这会让你感觉似乎自己跟他之间进行了一场私人对话。

此外,互联网上的Word of Mouth (意为“口碑”,简称WOM)也有助于品牌建设及增加曝光度。Wines of Germany是一个代表德国生产商的官方组织。它已经投入在线营销(在线展示,社交网络用于产生正面口碑)。随之而来的收获是,越来越多的人注意到了德国葡萄酒。通过这一努力,在激烈竞争的国内外市场中,德国葡萄酒实现了价值的稳健增长。

此外,通过链接分享,也可以提高曝光度。葡萄酒厂为其他相关参与者(例如旅游目的地和活动场地)提供了链接。反过来,所引荐的网站也在它们的网站上提供了葡萄酒厂的直接链接。这有利于扩大在区域内的影响范围。意大利特伦蒂诺-上阿迪杰大区的Azienda Agricola Eredi di Cobelli Aldo通过分享链接,带来网站流量和酒庄参观。通过与特伦蒂诺-上阿迪杰大区的意大利独立葡萄种植者联合会(Vignaioli Indipendenti)和Strada Vino Trentio以及其他当地参与者间的链接,实现了这样的成效。

B2C:只要完成消费者细分和准确定位,这会成为一个高效的工具。

通过社交媒体,尤其是Facebook中的强大展示功能,可以实现与终端消费者直接相关的销售额增长。跟那些没有通过Facebook获取葡萄酒信息的消费者相比,千禧一代是平均每月多消费一瓶葡萄酒的强大葡萄酒消费群。并且,他们每月在葡萄酒上的花费超过20美元(数据来源:在葡萄酒业,成功的社交媒体与电子商务策略。作者:Gergely Szolnoki et alii。2016年)。然而,并不是所有锁定最终消费者的互联网工具都是有效的。举一个QR码的例子,由葡萄酒经济学与政策于2014年发表的一篇名为“葡萄酒市场技术变革了吗?QR码和葡萄酒Apps在消费者葡萄酒购买中的作用”研究报告中显示,在QR码和购买兴趣间存在联系的消费者仅仅占到11.7%。

此外,通过选用正确的工具,也可以实现利润的增长。在网站上设置在线销售功能,通过其实现对消费者的直接销售,这将有助于酒厂获取更高利润,无须通过降低销售价格,将利润出让给分销商/进口商的方法实现利润增长。但是,为了提高利润,需要对每个消费者进行细分。每个细分都会反应出不同的销售潜力,并且葡萄酒厂需要制定以人为本的战略来实现有效的线上葡萄酒营销。这需要投入时间和资源(金钱)来获取。在2016年一份名为“Millenials, Mindsets & Money”的报告:葡萄酒厂提高在线销售额,Stephen Rappaport将千禧一代细分成三组:葡萄酒消费大户、热衷精品葡萄酒者、以及最后一组(也是最大的消费群体),即不确定是否愿意在线购买者。针对每个细分,Rappaport都推荐了特定的策略。

互联网跟任何其他工具一样:全球战略、品牌定位与沟通的一致性是关键。通过使用他们的网站、Facebook、Instagram和Twitter,由Millenials for Millenials所创建的葡萄酒厂Rebel Coast能够接触到它的大众消费者。Rebel Coast的标语是:“不是您父母的葡萄酒厂”,并且使用了跟他们的葡萄酒包装一样活泼互动的网站。Rebel Coast在其沟通中保持着一致性:帖子有趣,具有吸引力;在使用社交媒体时,也会结合着使用他们所创造的形象。

要确保品牌成功,需要持续的沟通。品牌共创是一个办法。引导消费者感受葡萄酒制作流程,赋予他们做出决策的权利,包括葡萄品种、产区、葡萄园、酒桶类型、名称以及标签设计,这是lacrema.com所成功采用的一种手法。Lacrema有一个虚拟酒商计划(Virtual Vintner Program)。只有收获季节的决策由葡萄酒厂决定。互动网站借助图片、图形、简单易懂的文本内容以及解释流程的短视频,带领着参与者循序渐进地做出他们的决策。他们之所以能够成功的主要原因是其娱乐性和培训特点,让消费者感觉自己就是项目中的一分子。建立品牌的另一种方法是通过在线讨论论坛实现双向沟通。不过,这种方法需要细致管理。当消费者形成葡萄酒群体,这些群体将获取对信息的强大控制权,以至于让那些能够对他们品牌进行广告创造和散布的卖方对消费者感到无能为力。此外,论坛海报公正、独立的特性使其获得了消费者的信任,卖方很难介入和起到影响。所以,葡萄酒厂营销商需要为这些极富潜力的群体做出贡献,并与其结成联盟,而这也正是西班牙的verema.com所做的。这个平台最早是一个供业余爱好者分享他们品酒记录的平台;现在,他们组织品尝活动,拥有他们自己的在线葡萄酒店铺,评价餐厅,就像Zagat餐厅指南所做的那样……

电子商务机遇:新关系的创新来源。

通过互联网可以寻求新的资金来源。众筹融资是中小型葡萄酒厂获取现金流最通常采用的一种方法。不同的模式也的确存在:无回报,以捐赠为基础;回报模式,提供非财务性回报;暂时性提供资金的众人出借模式以及出资人能够得到股权的股权众筹等。通常来说,这些模式具有很多优点。它们不仅能够减少交易成本,减少融资费用,并且能够节省新项目的开发时间。同时,他们喜欢与潜在消费者建立直接互动,这也使得支持项目的资助者认同它,把自己视为群体中的一员,成为项目的代表,从而为葡萄酒厂的品牌打造做出贡献。Naked Wines是一个基于回报模式成功的众筹融资的首创者,由Rowan Gormley于2008年12月在英国启动,随后在2012年发展壮大到澳大利亚和美国,它通过从投资小型独立葡萄酒生产商的老顾客那里获得资金。作为交换,消费者可以优先获得独家葡萄酒,享受价格优惠,以及获取免费葡萄酒。不过,出现项目失败或延误,创业者的声誉将会受到损害,甚至可能会出现消费者不满的情况。举例来说,Crushpad,位于索诺玛的一家北美葡萄酒公司,于2004年创立,但是到了2012年不得不倒闭。

在所选的Apps中通过提供现金折扣的方法来推动销售额是利用互联网的又一方法。Rebate apps将传统的优惠券转换成给予使用App的消费者以奖励。举个例子,零售店app,Ibotta, Inc.会在消费者购物时提供返现,它与多个酒品牌结成合作伙伴,包括行业领导者E&J Gallo, Constellation Brands, Mike’s Hard Lemonade Co.和VEEV,共同为购买葡萄酒和烈酒的消费者提供消费者现金折扣。

利用互联网作为教学工具非常有助于贴近消费者,从而成功创造品牌。通过教育消费者,可以使得不知名的小型品牌获取关注和了解。为了效率,读者无疑会就教育内容发表评论,交流意见,这类在线沟通论坛、Facebook、Twitter、You Tube和其他工具需要涉及到传统葡萄酒教学内容。一个很好的例子就是雪利酒监管机构(Sherry regulating body),在他的网站上,针对每一位雪利酒消费者,准备了非常有价值的教学资料。教学资料包括关于雪利酒历史、葡萄栽培、葡萄酒制作、成熟以及葡萄酒和食物的搭配等诸多方面的细节。另外,还有一个Vinos de Jerez(赫雷斯葡萄酒)的电视节目针对现有雪利酒的不同类型提供了介绍和食谱。这种有条理、简单明了的教学资料是打造雪利酒品牌、招募和说服新消费者以及在葡萄酒厂层面实现全面推广销售的强大工具。

总之,互联网为公司、消费者以及愿意找到特定项目和培训消费者的人提供了一个充满无限可能的世界。在其不同的形式之下,如果一系列的风险能够得到控制并采取基本防范措施,互联网将可以打造一个强大的品牌。风险控制和防范措施包括:控制消费者在论坛上发布的内容;确保真实信息交流;将消费者带进葡萄酒厂决策环节;分享与所建立品牌相一致的价值观……

作者简介:Diego Bonnel, 为多家酿酒厂担当葡萄酒顾问,在数个 国家的官方机构任职,超过 25 年。每年品尝数千款酒,特 别了解(以西班牙和葡萄牙为主的)伊比利亚半岛和法国 的葡萄酒。

该文刊登于《酒典》杂志 2017 年 01 月 刊
作家其它文章 相关文章

Internet and the wine business: friend or foe?

作者: Diego Bonnel        来源: 本文为《酒典》原创,欢迎订阅,允许微信直转链接,谢绝网站纸媒转载

Fine Wine and Liquor magazine

Internet: a powerful tool to manage your brand and a potentially rewarding one for those wineries that know how to properly handle it. But there are some risks one must be conscious of.

Internet is heavily used in the global economy and the wine sector is no exception. It is used to establish a link between companies (B2B), between companies and the consumer (B2C) and offers a series of ecommerce opportunities. In all these cases, Internet has an impact on the brand building process and on its success (or failure) in the end. A successful brand is one that sees its sales and profit increase, has a good consolidated reputation and is able to attract new customers. Each channel – B2B, B2C, ecommerce – has its risks and rewards, which will be analyzed.

B2B: a channel that must not be forgotten or neglected.

One of the more obvious Internet tools putting businesses in touch with one another are the e-marketplaces. e-marketplaces allow sellers and buyers – in many cases importers and distributors to call for tenders. Information on importers and distributors is available. Through analysis of the distributor’s portfolio, the winery knows in advance if its brand values and positioning will fit into that of the importer / distributor, thus gaining time and saving money. Global wines and spirits and International Beverage Network are two examples of e-marketplaces with an international reach, thus allowing wineries to position themselves on the international markets.

e-wineshops are an opportunity to increase sales and profit. They are a good and useful tool for producers, particularly for those medium and small producers who are looking to build their brand and reach a specific audience. It is one of the scarce places where they can find a specific space and find an audience. Vins-etonnants.com is a French web site specialized in natural wines, featuring small producers. Many wines are presented with a description of soil, viticulture and winemaking details. Moreover, food-pairing advice is also given. In some cases, an interview of the winemaker is also available. It presents the person behind the wine, which allows to establish a very close and emotional relation with the wine. For instance, Chateau Bel Air Marquis d’Aligre, a small Margaux producer, is present in this web site and a series of videos with the owner of the Chateau makes you feel like you have a private conversation with him.

Word of Mouth (WOM) in the Internet also contributes to increased visibility and brand building. Wines of Germany is the official body representing the producers of Germany. It has invested in online marketing (online presentations, social network use to generate positive Word Of Mouth - WOM). As a result, there was an increase in public awareness for Wines of Germany. This effort correlated with a moderate but steady increase in domestic and export value in an extremely competitive market.

Visibility can also be increased through connection sharing. Winery website offers a link to other related players (tourism destinations and activities for instance). In turn, referenced websites also offer a direct link to the winery on their websites. This has the advantage of expanding the area of influence within a region. Azienda Agricola Eredi di Cobelli Aldo in Trentino, Italy generates traffic on the websites and visits to the winery by sharing connections. Links with Vignaioli Indipendenti of Trentino and Strada Vino Trentio and other local players achieve these results.

B2C: an efficient tool as long as the customers are segmented and properly targeted.

Sales increase in a direct relation with the end customer might be achieved through a strong presence in social media, especially Facebook. Millenials are heavier wine consumers in average purchasing an additional bottle of wine per month compared to those who don’t use Facebook for information about wine. They also spend 20 $ more per month on wine. (Source: Successful Social Media and ecommerce strategies in the wine industry. Gergely Szolnoki et alii. 2016). However, all Internet tools aimed at the final consumer do not always work. Here is a QR code example. In a research paper called “Technological change in the wine market? The role of QR codes and wineapps in consumer wine purchases” published in 2014 by Wine Economics and policy, only for 11.7% of consumers there was a relationship between the presence of the QR code and a purchase interest.

Profit increase can also be achieved using the right tools. Having an online sale on the winery website makes that direct sales to consumers allow the winery to make a higher profit, not having to lower the selling price to allow distributors / importers to add their own margin. However, in order to increase profit, each customer segment has to be identified. Each segment reflects a different potential for sales and needs its own person-centered strategy for effective online wine marketing. This takes time and resources (money) to be properly achieved. In a report from 2016, called Millenials, Mindsets & Money: Increasing Online Sales by wineries, Stephen Rappaport segments Millenials in three groups: the ones heavily involved with wine, the ones mainly looking for the best deal and finally those (the larger group) uncertain of willing to buy online from a winery. For each segment, Rappaport recommends a specific strategy.

Internet is like any other tool: consistency between global strategy, brand positioning and communication is key. Through the use of their website, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, Rebel Coast winery, founded by Millenials for Millenials is able to reach its public. Rebel Coast tagline is: “Not Your Parent’s winery” and uses lively and interactive website as the face of their wine. Rebel Coast is consistent in its communication: posts are fun and engaging and their social media use is aligned with the image they have created.

A continuous communication is needed to ensure a brand success. Co-creation is one way to ensure it. It takes the customers through the winemaking process, granting them the right to vote on such decisions as the varietal, the appellation, the vineyard, the barrel type, the name and the label design. This is a technique successfully used by lacrema.com. Lacrema has a Virtual Vintner Program. Only decisions on harvest time are taken by the winery. An interactive website leads participants through their decisions step by step, with the support of pictures, graphics, easy-to understand texts and short videos explaining the process. The main reason for their success is their ability to entertain and educate, allowing customers to feel part of the project. Two-way communication through online discussion forums is another way to build a brand. This tool has nevertheless to be managed carefully. In the case of consumer generated wine communities, these tend to take much of the control over messages away from marketers who are at the mercy of consumers who can create and distribute advertising about their brands. Besides, the unbiased and independent nature of the forum posters make them so believable for consumers and very difficult for marketers to access and influence. Therefore, winery marketers need to contribute to and form alliances with these potentially powerful communities. And this is exactly what verema.com in Spain has done. This platform started like a platform where amateurs could post their own tasting notes. Now they organize tastings, have their own online wine shop, rate restaurants in a similar way as zagat restaurant guide does, …

e-commerce opportunities: an innovative source of new relations.

The Internet allows exploring new financial sources. Crowd funding is a way used mostly by small and medium wineries to have access to cash-flow. Different models do exist. Donation based, with no reward offered, reward model, providing a non-financial return, crowd lending model where funds are provided in a temporary basis and also equity crowd funding model where the contributors receive equity. Generally speaking, these models have many advantages. They reduce not only the transaction costs making financing cheaper, but they also reduce the time in the development of new projects. At the same time, they favor a direct interaction with potential customers and make the contributors backing the project be identified with it, feel part of a community and become ambassadors of the project, contributing to building the winery’s brand. Naked Wines is a successful reward-based crowd funding initiative. Launched in December 2008 by Rowan Gormley in the UK and expanded to Australia and the US in 2012, it collects funds from regular customers that are invested into small independent winemakers. In exchange, customers get preferred access to exclusive wines, a discount on price plus free wine. However, in case of failure or delay of the project, the entrepreneur’s reputation can be damaged and customer disaffection may happen. For instance, this is what Crushpad, a North American wine company based in Sonoma, founded in 2004 and closed in 2012 had to go through.

Another way to take advantage of the Internet is offering cash rebates in selected apps to drive sales. Rebate apps transform the traditional coupon into a way to reward consumers who engage with the App. For instance, Ibotta, Inc., the retail shopping app that gives users cash back when they shop, has partnered with multiple alcohol brands including industry leaders like E&J Gallo, Constellation Brands, Mike’s Hard Lemonade Co. and VEEV to offer shoppers cash rebates when they buy wine and spirits.

Using the Internet as an education tool can powerfully contribute to get close to customers and create successful brands. Educating consumers makes small or unknown brands more likely to be discovered and understood. To be efficient, readers have to be able to comment and exchange on that educational content, thus online discussion forums, Facebook, Twitter, You Tube and other tools have to be associated with traditional wine educational content. A good example is the Sherry regulating body. It has in his web site very valuable educational material aimed at every sherry consumer. Education Materials include consideration on history of Sherry, viticulture, winemaking, ageing and food and wine pairing. Besides, there is a Vinos de Jerez TV showing additional information and recipes to make with the different types of existing Sherries. This well-organized and clear material is a powerful tool to build the Sherry brand, recruit and convince new consumers and overall push sales at the winery level.

As a conclusion, Internet offers a world of possibilities, for companies and customers and also for those willing to find specific projects and educate the client. Under its different forms, Internet contributes to building powerful brands, provided a series of risks are managed and elementary precautions are taken: control customer input in forums, ensure a real information exchange, involve the customer in winery decisions, share values consistent with those of the brand that is being built, … 

作者简介:Diego Bonnel, 为多家酿酒厂担当葡萄酒顾问,在数个 国家的官方机构任职,超过 25 年。每年品尝数千款酒,特 别了解(以西班牙和葡萄牙为主的)伊比利亚半岛和法国 的葡萄酒。

该文刊登于《酒典》杂志 2017 年 01 月 刊
作家其它文章 相关文章